Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Stefan Savage in Cybersecurity Roundtable

UC San Diego computer science professor Stefan Savage participated in what appears to have been an interesting roundtable on cybersecurity organized by The San Diego Daily Transcript. The headline and summary of the SDDT story is below.
Grad students who work with professor savage are on the cover of a recent issue of the alumni magazine Pulse. The associated Pulse cybersecurity story is here.

Think you Know EBU1? Check again!

On April 10, 2010, the Jacobs School of Engineering will re-dedicate its "Jacobs Hall" in honor of Irwin and Joan Jacobs and their leadership support for the Jacobs School.

Irwin Jacobs is a former Jacobs School professor and the co-founder of San Diego telecommunications giants Qualcomm and Linkabit. Built in 1988, the building entry (EBU-1) has been remodeled to create a welcoming new space for students, faculty, and visitors.

The new atrium-style lobby includes a digital gallery, serving as both a living laboratory for visualization research, and a showcase for innovation throughout the Jacobs School. It will include a large, multi-tiled display known as the HIPerspace Wall, as well as a peripheral-free 3D video screen, webcams, and other technologies.

Qualcomm Conference Center is a major new feature of Jacobs Hall, made possible by a gift from the company. This 120-seat auditorium provides space for educational programs, meetings, and special events. Adjacent to the conference room and lobby are new administrative homes for the Bernard and Sophia Gordon Engineering Leadership Center, the von Liebig Center for Entrepreneurism and Technology Advancement, and Jacobs School Engineering Student Services.

Two Bioengineering Undergraduates Win Goldwater Scholarship

Two bioengineering undergraduates from the UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering recently won the Goldwater Scholarship. The scholarship aims to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering and to foster leadership and excellence in those fields.

The UCSD winners of this national scholarship are bioengineering junior Scott Revelli and Ryan Chuang, a junior double majoring in bioengineering: biotechnology and human biology.
Ryan Chuang is a Jacobs Scholar and a participant in the Med Scholars Program -- a seven or eight-year Bachelor/Medicine (M.D.) program that accepts up to twelve highly qualified California high school seniors each year, and grants them provisional acceptance into the UCSD School of Medicine. Chuang plans to earn an M.D. and Ph.D. in Molecular and Cellular Biology. He hopes to conduct research in oncology and teach at the university level.

Scott Revelli participated in UCSD’s Pacific Rim Undergraduate Experiences (PRIME) program. Read all about Scott’s PRIME summer in Melbourne, Australia here. In addition to enjoying Australia, Revelli performed biomedical research. Read his final report: “Determining the Optimal Pacing Sites for Biventricular Pacing the Failing Heart with Left Bundle Branch Block.” His UCSD mentors were bioengineering professor Andrew McCulloch and Dr. Roy C. P. Kerckhoffs, an Assistant Project Scientist in Professor Andrew McCulloch's Cardiac Mechanics Research Group in the Department of Bioengineering.

Last year, Revelli won the Genentech PR&D 2009 Outstanding Junior Award. His future plans? To develop medical devices.

Goldwater Scholarships

The "Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Program and Excellence in Education Foundation" was created in 1986. The scholarship aims to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering and to foster leadership and excellence in those fields.

Scholarships are awarded to students with outstanding potential for pursuit of careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Each scholarship covers eligible expenses for undergraduate tuition, fees, books, and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500 annually.